Gareth Southgate announces preliminary England Euro 2024 squad: Marcus Rashford and Jordan Henderson axed, Eberechi Eze in

Gareth Southgate has named his 33-man preliminary England squad for the EURO 2024 in Germany.

The England initial squad list announced earlier today might have been a shock for Manchester United star Marcus Rashford and former Liverpool midfielder Jordan Henderson as they were left out.

Following excellent showings over the season for their respective clubs, Eberechi Eze and Jarrod Bowen were called up. 20-year-old Adam Wharton also featured on the list after a strong campaign with Premier League outfits Crystal Palace.

Teams are set to have a 26-man official squad list for the Euros and seven names will be struck off following the completion of the pre-EURO 2024 training.

The Three Lions will play friendlies versus Bosnia & Herzegovina at St. James’ Park and Iceland at the Wembley Stadium ahead of the European competition.

Preliminary England Squad

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson, Jordan Pickford, Aaron Ramsdale, James Trafford.

Defenders: Jarrad Branthwaite, Lewis Dunk, Joe Gomez, Marc Guehi, Ezri Konsa, Harry Maguire, Jarell Quansah, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Kieran Trippier and Kyle Walker.

Midfielders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Conor Gallagher, Curtis Jones, Kobbie Mainoo, Declan Rice and Adam Wharton.

Forwards: Jude Bellingham, Jarrod Bowen, Eberechi Eze, Phil Foden, Anthony Gordon, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, James Maddison, Cole Palmer, Bukayo Saka, Ivan Toney and Ollie Watkins.

Trambak Bhattacherjee | Get Football

More European Football News