FULL LIST | Xherdan Shaqiri and Denis Zakaria make Switzerland final 26-man World Cup squad

Ahead of the start of the World Cup in Qatar later this month, Switzerland’s national team, known locally as the ‘Nati’, have published their list of 26 players to travel to the Middle East for the tournament. Ahead of Group G meetings with Brazil, Cameroon and Serbia, Swiss coach Murat Yakin has named five players based in the country’s domestic leagues as well as representatives from eight other countries. Former Liverpool attacker Xherdan Shaqiri, now playing in MLS with Chicago Fire, Arsenal’s Granit Xhaka and Denis Zakaria of Chelsea were all included, as were, unusually, four goalkeepers. Here’s the full squad:

Gregor Kobel (Borussia Dortmund)
Philipp Kohn (Red Bull Salzburg)
Jonas Omlin (Montpellier)
Yann Sommer (Borussia Monchengladbach)

Manuel Akanji (Manchester City)
Eray Comert (Valencia)
Nico Elvedi (Borussia Monchengladbach)
Ricardo Rodriguez (Torino)
Fabian Schar (Newcastle United)
Sylvan Widmer (Mainz 05)

Michel Aebischer (Bologna)
Edimilson Fernandes (Mainz 05)
Fabian Frei (Basel)
Remo Freuler (Nottingham Forest)
Ardon Jashari (Luzern)
Noah Okafor (Red Bull Salzburg)
Fabian Rieder (Young Boys)
Xherdan Shaqiri (Chicago Fire)
Djibril Sow (Eintracht Frankfurt)
Renato Steffen (Lugano)
Granit Xhaka (Arsenal)
Denis Zakaria (Chelsea)

Breel Embolo (Monaco)
Christian Fassnacht (Young Boys)
Haris Seferovic (Galatasaray)
Reuben Vargas (FC Augsburg)


More European Football News