Denmark announce final Euro 2024 squad: Christian Eriksen makes Euro return, Rasmus Højlund debuts, Matt O’Riley omitted

Denmark head coach Kasper Hjulmand has announced his 26-man squad for Euro 2024, and the sides warm-up games against Norway and Sweden.

Manchester United’s Christian Eriksen is the headline call-up, with the midfielder set to return to the European Championships three years after collapsing and suffering a cardiac arrest in a match against Finland, during which he underwent life-saving treatment on the pitch.

A surprising admission is Celtic’s London-born midfielder Matt O’Riley, who made his debut for Denmark in March having opted to represent them in February 2022.

As for other notable inclusions, national team stalwarts such as Pierre Emile Højbjerg, Kasper Schmeichel, and all-time record appearance maker Simon Kjaer have all made the squad, as has Manchester United star striker Rasmus Højlund.

The 21-year-old, who is the youngest member of Hjulmand’s squad, is set to play in his first major international tournament and will look to replicate his form during his nation’s qualifying campaign, where his seven goals saw him finish as Denmark’s top scorer.

Denmark will kick of their Euro campaign on June 16 against Slovenia in a group that also contains Serbia and tournament favorites England, the latter of which narrowly beat them in extra time in the previous Euro’s semi-final.

Denmark’s final Euro 2024 squad.

Goalkeepers: Kasper Schmeichel, Frederik Ronnow, Mads Hermansen.

Defenders: Andreas Christensen Simon Kjaer, Joachim Andersen, Jannik Vestergaard, Victor Nelsson, Alexander Bah, Joakim Maehle, Rasmus Kristensen, Victor Kristiansen.

Midfielders: Christian Eriksen, Thomas Delaney, Morten Hjulmand, Pierre-Emile Højbjerg, Christian Norgaard, Mathias Jensen Mikkel Damsgaard.

Forwards: Jacob Bruun Larsen, Andreas Skov Olsen, Anders Dreyer, Kasper Dolberg, Rasmus Højlund, Jonas Wind, Yussuf Poulsen.

Travis Levison | Get Football

More European Football News